Be Happy

Some of the stresses of life are unfortunately inevitable, but this doesn’t mean that you can’t be proactive in making yourself happy. If it’s not something you can control, like taking exams or paying bills, try to accept and embrace the level of concern you feel. If anything it shows that you care and respect yourself enough to remain organised and mindful of your priorities.

Understandably ‘forgetting’ about your troubles is easier said than done, but it’s a matter of putting things into perspective. Will your worry matter tomorrow? Or in 4 weeks, or 4 years? If not, don’t let it be the focus of your everyday.

More than the inevitable concerns are those that create themselves. Things like, lack of income, self-confidence or belief. These are the things that you can at the very least eclipse with HAPPINESS, occupying yourself with things that make you smile. To do this, you have to identify the things that make you happy. I’ve made a list of 10 things that always make ME feel better.

pharrel-williams-happy

#happy,follow @pharrell

  1. GET OUT– For some reason, I always feel suffocated when I’m ‘trapped’ inside for too long. When you spend too long inside, you lose touch with humanity, and can get tired and isolated. Cabin fever is very very real and its’ side effects will diminish your drive and sense of energy. So, do yourself a favour and just leave the house. Even for a walk or a bike ride or something. If there’s one thing I know, it’s that sitting on your phone/social media/watching mindless TV hoping that you might feel refreshed and rejuvenated afterwards is never going to work. 
  2. RELIVE YOUR CHILDHOOD As childish as it may seem, I absolutely love re-watching cartoons that I used to enjoy when I was younger. When I used to holiday in America, we watched Disney channels which we didn’t have at home. They played shows like ‘Phineas and Ferb’ and ‘SpongeBob Squarepants’ all day everyday, and to me these shows were so hilariously uplifting. Because I couldn’t get them anywhere else, they remind me of the holidays I went on, and they always remind me of how happy they made me then. So when I need a bit of cheering up I watch them, they never fail to make me smile.
  3. GOOD MUSIC– Music is really important to me, not because I’m an amazing composer or artist, but because 60 % of what I do has a soundtrack to it; brushing my teeth, emptying the dishwasher, getting on the bus, getting reading to go out etc. Music has the power to change MY mood, and I would recommend it to anyone as a way to relax themself or cheer themself up.
  4. GO SOMEWHERE NEW-Because I love to travel, I love going to new places. I know that not everyone is up for random, spontaneous adventures to places they don’t know. So it doesn’t have to be that extreme. It could be a new meal at a new restaurant or, maybe a new meal at the same restaurant, if you want. A lot of people like to stick with what they know, but after a while of getting the same salad with the same dressing with the same drink your life turns into the Truman show.
  5. FIND A HOBBY-I think this is probably the most practical solution of the lot. I’ve been playing the piano now since I was about 8 years old and took up guitar a few years ago. My hobbie of playing instruments relaxes me and keeps me sane when it seems that there is nothing else productive to do. There must be SOMETHING that interests you slightly, find it and pursue a hobby in it, from origami all the way to rock-climbing, just do it.
  6. SUNSHINE- Go to an area exposed to bright sunshine. I’m sure many people are aware of the scientific benefits of exposing yourself to sunlight; this is probably why we all feel so good on sunny days. If you can, go to spaces with big windows and lots of natural light pouring in, it always makes me feel more cheery and awake than being in a dank, dully lit room. And TIDY your room. I am not the tidiest person ever, but what I know is that I can’t really focus or study in a room that is dirty or cluttered. So clear the desk space, put your clothes in your wardrobe and vacuum the carpet, It might even de-stress you.
  7. WEAR SOMETHING FABULOUS – I remember reading somewhere that getting ready as if you’re going out somewhere can boost your confidence. Having tried it, I can concur that putting on presentable clothing and making an effort with a little bit of make up can make you feel like you have your life together, even if you’re just moping around eating ice cream all day.
  8. SMILING– Your resting face should be smiling. Most people are not adverse to a friendly face. A smile from a stranger always brightens my day. Try to smile as much as your face will allow you too, even if you don’t like your smile or your teeth or even your face. SMILE, because to the world around you appear to be a lovelier person.
  9. RUN FATBOY-At the end of the day, all of us should be doing exercise, even if we don’t like it. There has never been a time when I have regretted exercising, I have only ever regretted procrastinating and missing a workout. You must admit, that the feeling you get after you’ve finished a run or a gym session is one of accomplishment and quite frankly, relief. So just get it out of the way and your body will thank you for it.
  10. COMPLIMENTS AND AFFIRMATIONS– I love compliments, and I don’t think I know that many people who don’t like receiving compliments from friends and even strangers. The look of appreciation on someone’s face when you give them a genuine compliment makes me happy, because you know you’ve succeeded in making them feel a little bit better. If someone has an uplifting smile or personality, tell them. Tell your friends and family how much you value them, if you do. It will make them happy.

    Today’s SONG FOR THE WEEK is Chance the Rapper’s Sunday Candy: One of the most feel good songs I know. Follow this link :Chance the Rapper, Sunday Candy

Leave a Reply

